The U.S. Supreme Court

The authority of the U.S. Supreme Court derives from Article III of the U.S. Constitution. Its jurisdiction is set out by statute in Title 28 of the U.S. Code. The Court itself promulgates the rules governing the presentation of cases to it. See Supreme Court Rules (effective Oct. 2, 1995).

In an April 1996 address on the future of the federal courts, Chief Justice Rehnquist reviewed the Court's history and the importance of an independent judiciary.

Nine Justices sit on the Court. For biographical information on the current members see the LII's Gallery of the Justices.